Skip to content

Accidental Fashion Icon: Melanie Martinez

November 21, 2012

Ok, confession time: I am completely addicted to most singing competition shows. Sometimes I watch them to feel better about my own mediocre singing voice (“Maybe I could do this…”), sometimes I watch to get a good laugh or have a reason to go on a rant about the sad state of pop music, and other times–and this is a rarity–I watch to be inspired by some true artists and the fact that they could get a big break from this kind of forum. Enter Melanie Martinez. She’s currently a contestant on The Voice and earned attention after doing an amazing cover of Britney Spears’ “Toxic” in which she played the tambourine with her feet.

Melanie’s cool vocal tone is one thing, but her style is the reason she has landed here in my first edition of a new reoccurring topic: Accidental Fashion Icon. This will be devoted to any source of fashion inspiration that I never saw coming. I mean, who would have thought I’d be inspired by someone from a reality show? Maybe it’s Melanie’s two-tone hair, gap teeth, ever-present Peter Pan collars, baby doll dresses, or red lipstick and pale skin, but I think mainly it’s the fact that only 17 years old, on a television show on a major network, Melanie has managed the rare feat of actually having an original aesthetic (aka not forced upon her by an overzelous stylist or team of execs) that also works so well with her musical style. Get it, Mel!




One Comment leave one →
  1. nikki permalink
    November 21, 2012 10:48 am

    ugh. i love that last video/song/top she’s wearing…. she is gogeous!

Leave a Reply

