Skip to content

Bridal Style

November 4, 2012

My sister Jessica and her husband, Andrew, just celebrated their fourth year of marriage!  I’ve already told you about how stylish and cool Jessica is, but for their anniversary I thought I’d focus on one specific example of her great taste: her beautiful wedding.

First a little of their love story.  Jessica and Andrew dated long-distance for several years (he lived in England and she was in Boston, Massachusetts) before he was able to move to the states.  Shortly after he moved back to Boston, they got engaged!  They were married in a bowling alley/cocktail lounge in the Jamaica Plain area of the city and the reception was held there afterward.  Jessica wore a 1950’s style dress and walked down a spiral staircase to Dusty Springfield’s “The Look of Love,” and held a bouquet made of fabric and buttons designed by the amazing Princess Lasertron.  My sister Brittany and I also wore 1950’s style bridesmaid dresses complete with crinoline skirts and my mom and Andrew’s mother both read poems in the ceremony: one a sonnet by Shakespeare and the other a Dada poem by Paul Eluard, which I posted below. It was completely non-tradtional but so personal to who they are as people.  After the reception, Jessica did a quick outfit change into a black vintage 1950’s dress and she and Andrew held and after party at a bar in Somerville where they took turns playing deejay. 🙂

I was very into using my vintage Polaroid SX-70 camera and used it for these shots.  Hope the wedding inspires everyone to put their personality into the next big event you’re planning!  It makes it so unique and memorable.  And congratulations to Jessica and Andrew!

 

“The shape of your eye” by Paul Eluard

The shape of your eyes goes around my heart,
A round of dance and sweetness.
Halo of time, cradle nightly and sure
No longer do I know what I’ve lived,
Your eyes have not always seen me

Leaves of day and moss of dew,
Reeds of wind and scented smiles,
Wings lighting up the world,
Boats laden with sky and sea,
Hunters of sound and sources of colour,

Scents the echoes of a covey of dawns
Recumbent on the straw of stars,
As the day depends on innocence
The world relies on your pure sight
All my blood courses in its glance.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. diaperdiamonds permalink
    November 4, 2012 11:18 am

    Cute photos and awesome dress!

  2. abbieclair permalink
    November 13, 2012 5:57 pm

    That bouquet. !!! ❤
    abbiexx

Leave a Reply

