Skip to content

New Sole

October 31, 2012

A lot of people are skeptical to go vintage in terms of footwear, given that shoes are garments prone to significant wear and tear.  And I must say, vintage shoes often require more commitment to repairing damages.  After all, you want the things that are holding your entire body weight to be in the best, most functioning shape possible!  It may require a little more work, but shopping for vintage shoes can be intensely satisfying!  I used the example of my most recent acquisition to show you how it can be done!

I bought these vintage Paul Mayer (circa 1980’s) green suede boots at Squaresville (one of my all-time favorite thrift shops) while I was there hunting for items for a music video I was styling.  Apparently an older woman had dropped off several pairs of amazing boots in mint condition, but they were too small for most customers!  I happen to be a size 5 1/2, so I had a Cinderella moment and got to take these gorgeous things home for the steal of the century…$15!  The only problem: the taps (the cap on the tip of the heel) had been completely worn off.  This is a typical problem with vintage heels but trust me, it’s such an easy fix!  For $23, my favorite shoe repair place, La Gondola, replaced the taps and put a thin layer of rubber on the sole to keep me from slipping!  I highly recommend you all find a shoe repair shop of your own!  They can polish, stretch, re-sole, clean, re-lace — completely give your old shoes a new life!  If you don’t know one in your area, ask around or try using Yelp for recommendations.  It shouldn’t be terribly expensive and it can extend the life of your brand new shoes as well!  Below are the before and after shots of the sole and taps and then some more gratuitous boot shots! They’re putting me in a fall state of mind! xo

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    October 31, 2012 6:01 pm

    Great boots ash! Love your bag too!

  2. October 31, 2012 7:57 pm

    @Jen vintage bag and scarf by Lady, vintage cashmere sweater hand-me-down, and Citizens of Humanity jeans….I just wanted an excuse say all that 🙂

Leave a Reply

