Skip to content

Dear Mama

October 20, 2012

One of the best things about getting older is learning that your parents are not just your parents; they’re also people.  The most positive thing about my parents’ divorce when I was in high school was to get to know my mother as an individual being.  My mom, Sally Lou, studied acting in college before dropping out to hitchhike through Europe with one of her best girlfriends.  She worked as a cocktail waitress at the legendary Playboy Club in the early 1970’s, wearing a painful, corseted bunny costume and a variety of wigs.  When she was a baby, everyone said what perfect eyebrows she had and she taught me to groom mine from a very young age :).  As a toddler, my mom announced to my grandma that she was running away from home and wouldn’t she please call her a cab?  In the 1960’s, my mom’s skirts were so short they had to come up with a new name to describe their beyond mini-skirt length: Sally skirts (my grandma is still bitter that at the funeral of my mom’s beloved Nana, she cut her black skirt into a Sally skirt).  She has small, square hands (just like mine), and my sister claims she smells like “baby.”  My mom has also worked so hard her entire life to be able to provide for me and my sisters, and she is the most genuine, sympathetic, kind person I have ever known.  I’m so lucky to have her in my life and so lucky to have gotten to know her as the lovely human being that she is, outside of just being my mom.  Today, October 20th is her ___rd birthday and she doesn’t look a day over ___!  I thought in celebration I would share some photos of this blog’s namesake, Sally Lou, and let you all learn a little bit more about her.  Happy Birthday, Mama!

Little Sally Lou and her perfect eyebrows!

Classic Sally Lou working as a cocktail bunny.  This is her real hair (you can see one of her in a wig on the banner of this webpage! In fact, she is in all of those photos!).

These are my parents in the late 1970’s/early 1980’s.

Here’s Sally Lou with my oldest sister, Jessica.  Her dress looks just like a vintage one I have! 🙂

Here’s me and my mom at my first birthday party!

Sleeping on my mom’s lap. I still fall asleep everywhere!

This is my first day in LA! My mom drove down with me when I moved from Wisconsin.  We had breakfast at Millie’s diner in Silver Lake, a place that has a lot of special memories for me.

These are my mom’s other babies, her cats Mercedes and Portia when they were just kittens!  Being a cat person runs in my family; between she, my sister Brittany and I, we have 6!

And now my mom is also a grandma!  This is my adorable nephew, Miles, with his Mimi right after he was born.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy Blachly permalink
    October 21, 2012 6:47 am

    What a beautiful tribute to a wonderful friend, mother, wife and human being. I feel so lucky to have met Sally and can call her my friend.
    Sally raised incredibly sweet daughters that are very strong and positive. I was blessed to be able to met all of you.
    Beautiful story Ashley❤

    • October 21, 2012 3:06 pm

      @Cindy She’s a keeper! 😉 And thank you for the compliment!

Leave a Reply

