Skip to content

How-To: Fit to be Tied

January 23, 2012

Living in Southern California, I have no idea what my wardrobe would be without scarves.  Layering is crucial, and since we don’t always need to wear heavy jackets, yet the weather can change from chilly mornings to sun-soaked afternoons in the matter of a few hours, a good scarf is the perfect fashionable, functional accessory.  My latest way to have fun with the trend is by combining a patterned scarf with a patterned top.  I may regret this look in a few days, but for now I’m enjoying the juxtaposition and it gives a lot of visual interest without having to do very much.  It’s an especially great option for you girls who aren’t keen on wearing a lot of jewelry.  As far as knowing what patterns to mix, just try and go for ones that have a similar color story and/or consider having your prints be different sizes (ie: a small floral print blouse and a wide-striped scarf).  But really you can’t have rules for this kind of thing.  Just play until you find a combo you like!

One of my favorite photographers/people Dab Ito of the fabulous Old Brand New was kind enough to shoot these lovely images of some of the ways I’ve been wearing this look.  If you think these pictures are pretty, you should definitely become a slave to his stylish blog, as I have.  All scarves are from Lady, my go-to source for accessorizing.  And please, please feel free to send me pictures of your own experimentations!  I’m always looking for more inspiration!

If you’re unsure about how to tie your scarf in the perfect “I just threw this on, but look totally chic” fashion, follow the tips below in my very low-fi video. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

