Skip to content

Dear Santa…

December 1, 2011

True story: I believed in Santa Claus until I was about ten years old.  I had been wanting one of those jointed bears dressed up in people-clothes and my mom told me I’d have to get it from Santa.  One day my impatience got the best of me and I peeked into my parents’ closet only to find Ms. Fancy Bear herself.  I think I was practically hysterical with disappointment and embarrassment in having discovered this hard truth at a relatively old age.

These days I wouldn’t mind believing in a little magic all over again, particularly because it might be the only way I’ll receive some of the hard-to-find vintage items on my wish list.  A girl can dream, right?  Here’s what I’ve got so far:

Le Creuset by Enzo Mari and Raymond Loewy

A brand still regarded highly for their enamel-covered, cast iron cookware, Le Creuset hired influential Italian designer Enzo Mari to create their “La Mama” line for the company in the 1970s and industrial designer Raymond Loewy for their “Coquelle” line in the late 1950s.  The two lines were distinctly more Modernist in style and as a result have earned cult followings with cooks and collectors alike, making the pieces often very hard (and expensive!) to find.  Le sigh.

source

source

source

source

source

source

Winter Capes

Ok, so given it has been 80 degrees in Los Angeles every day this week and it’s the last day of November.  It looks like my window to wear a vintage winter cape is narrowing by the second!  Ok, let’s face it: I’ll probably never need to wear one in Southern California, but does that mean I shouldn’t have one?  I think not!

source

source

source

source

Faux-Finish Highball Glasses

Ever since I spotted the trompe l’oeil wicker highball glasses at the flea market last month (in the first photo below) and for some strange reason didn’t buy them, I have become obsessed.  While I haven’t found anything identical (damn!), there sure are some cool cocktail glasses out their with equally awesome faux finishes.  But which to choose?!

source

source

source

Pleated Maxi Skirt

When I saw how cute my stylish friend Jade from Fauna Vintage was in her black version topped with a knotted denim shirt, I knew I had to have one of my own.  As long at its not too voluminous, I plan to wear one with a sheer, tailored blouse, or relaxed, gauzy sweater.

source

source

source

source

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jocelyn permalink
    January 20, 2012 3:48 am

    i found this blog through fauna vintage, and i love it!:) you have a lovely style

  2. January 20, 2012 10:07 pm

    Thank you, Jocelyn! I’m so glad you stumbled upon me! I have lots of cool posts in the works so please keep coming back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

