Skip to content

Bee My Baby

November 13, 2011

Of late I’ve been uncharacteristically crafty, mostly in preparation of my sister’s baby shower which took place in my hometown of Milwaukee last weekend.  My sister Brittany, who lives in Windsor, Ontario is due in late January and will be giving me and my other sister, Jessica, our very first niece or nephew!  That’s right…Brittany and her husband Josh have decided not to find out the baby’s gender ahead of time, which left a bit of a conundrum in terms of planning a shower.  No pink or blue, she ruled out “baby animals”, and frankly the primary colors thing is getting kind of old, so I decided on a (light) bumble bee theme as I planned the shower.

I used pale yellow, rough-edged watercolor paper notecards from Soolip in Beverly Hills for the invitations, handwriting them (a rough task for a lefty!) with a fine-tipped pen and decorating them with a bit of black and yellow satin ribbon, and bee stamps.  I also made party favors of brown sugar body scrubs in little mason jars from the hardware store, finished with ribbon and a handwritten brown craft paper tag.  In case you want to make your own, I made the scrubs with a mixture of brown sugar and kosher salt, local honey, orange essential oil, and sweet almond oil for the base.  I also had a flat strip of bamboo cut into 2 inch pieces to be used as stir sticks.  Geez, I am dorky.

Our shower took place at Hi Hat Lounge on Milwaukee’s East Side, a chic little bar where we snacked on choices of Pabst Blue Ribbon pancakes, Florentine Eggs Benedict, and custom-built omelettes.  And mimosas.  Plenty of mimosas!  Here are a few shots of the crafting process as well as a few from the shower itself.  Do I need to add party planning to my list of hobbies??

Some of our brunch treats….

With my favorite, Jenny.

Sally Lou!!!!! She’s going to be a grandma (“Mimi”)!

Brittany didn’t want to play any cheesy games (candy bars in diapers? gross.) so instead we all decorated birthday cards for the baby from ages 1 to 18! Everyone chose an age at random.  Let me tell you, its not an easy task to write a card to your future niece or nephew for when they are 17!  We also wore yarn necklaces on which you had to put  a plastic safety pin every time you said the word “baby,” and played a trivia game about Brittany, Josh, and the new baby.

How cute is Brittany in her black dress and polka-dot tights?!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2011 9:30 pm

    WOW!! So impressed 😉 Nice job sister!!

    • November 13, 2011 9:31 pm

      Thank you!!! I wanted a classy affair! 🙂 Hope you’re well!!! xoxo

  2. November 14, 2011 12:41 am

    Damn, you really can do it all. Great taste goes and long way. My favorite part is that you hand wrote each invite. AMAZING. I don’t think I’ve seen that before. I really hope your sis frames one. So special.

  3. November 14, 2011 12:42 am

    * a long way

  4. Susie Thompson permalink
    November 14, 2011 3:15 am

    CONGRATULATIONS, Brittany and Josh!!! Can’t believe all of you girls are SO grown up… but my Eric and Anna are, too 🙂 Ashley, this was a fabulous party plan, tho with all your talent, I wasn’t shocked, just VERY impressed!
    Susie Poston Thompson

Leave a Reply

