Skip to content

Ready for Her Close Up: Jack Diaz

October 3, 2011

I’ve told you all about Miss Jack Diaz before.  She is both my friend and a very talented singer/songwriter.  As her musical career is blossoming, I thought it would be a great time to shoot some possible promotional photos.  Jack and I talked about keeping the images somewhat quirky (like her whimsical tunes and nostalgic fashion sense) and we basically spent the day playing with/fake-smoking sidewalk chalk, using plants as mustaches, sitting in old tires, and trespassing.  I was so distracted by the fun day with Miss Diaz and Alex Ochoa, our makeup and hair mistress, that I forgot we were even working.  So imagine my surprise when I got so many great pictures out of the deal!  Success!

I think I’m really getting the hang of using this old manual 35mm Minolta.  My mom bought it for me used when I was in high school and I’m finally getting into the groove with all the manual adjustments.  This is one of the only times I have shot color film with the camera, once again using Kodak Portra.  The color is so natural and even a bit less saturated that working with digital.

Alex and I worked together to style Jack, going with a Mary Tyler Moore-esque ‘do for part of the shoot, complete with liquid liner and a 60’s wardrobe.  Later Alex transformed her into a more 1940’s inspired wave and a ladylike, but still very “Jack” ensemble of high-waisted, wide-legged, burnt umber pants and a tie blouse.  We tried to have her step out of her comfort zone (crushed velvet, sparkly tunics, china doll shoes) into something a little more styled while maintaining her individual sensibility.

Oh…and for my LA readers, Jack performs at Hollywood’s Hotel Cafe this Friday, October 7th at 7pm.  And if you go, stay for the rest of the great line-up which includes our friends Neon Hymns!

Ps: Can you spot Jack’s adorable kitten, Alice, in one of the pics?  How could we not include her??

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

