Skip to content

Dress Up for Grown Ups

September 30, 2011

Remember when you were little and you and your friends would play dress up and do photo shoots pretending you were models?  Well, one of the cool things about living in a place like Los Angeles is that occasionally, you get to do that when you’re a grown up, too.  My interest in both photography and styling gets utilized when friends who work as actors and musicians need promotional photographs.  Because this is something I genuinely love to do, the process often feels not much different than those playing dress up days.

Recently I took photos for my friend Christina Kurzius, an actress whose film Molly Goes West (a USC School of Cinematic Arts thesis film) premiers at Norris Cinema Theater this Friday, September 30th (view the trailer HERE).  She was looking for some images for her budding acting career, and I was happy to dress and photograph such a gorgeous and talented friend!  I thought I’d share the results of our lovely day in Los Angeles’ Elysian Park.  These shots were taken with my Minolta 35mm camera with Kodak Portra film (except the one in the red dress, which is a digital image from my Nikon D40).  Enjoy!

Ps: Tomorrow I am shooting with another amazing lady, Miss Jack Diaz!  Stay tuned for the results!

One of the perks of being petite is that people always give you their outgrown clothes.  My very stylish boss gave me this white, drop-waist dress as a hand-me-down.  I’ve never worn it, but it sure looks great on Christina with some dusty boots!

God knows I love me a good scarf.  In California, lightweight ones like this are a staple.  I loved mixing a patterned one with the pattern of Christina’s sundress.  I thought it worked because both pieces are in the same color family.  And because the scarf is big and has a lot of volume around the face, an up-do works best.  I used my patented messy ballerina bun technique for this one.  Speaking of my tutorials, I’m planning on doing another to show my tips on trying your scarf stylishly! 🙂

I was completely obsessed with this skirt Eve from the Magpie List let us borrow.  It gave me the idea to do a whole Carolina Herrera look with a crisp white shirt and this epic, voluminous copper skirt.  Christina and her strawberry locks brought that idea to life.

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2011 2:04 am

    I can’t even handle how gorgeous the orange skirt photos turned out. I want to be Christina when I grow up!

  2. September 30, 2011 7:19 am

    Beautiful girl, beautiful photos.

  3. Mom permalink
    September 30, 2011 11:46 am

    beautiful subject… beautful photos…. and beautful photos…. so and superb stylist!

  4. September 30, 2011 1:57 pm

    Aw, thanks guys (and mom)!!!!

  5. Zeb permalink
    October 2, 2011 7:20 am

    Loving these…

Leave a Reply

