Skip to content

Up & Up: Jack Diaz

July 19, 2011

The only thing better than discovering some great new music is discovering that it’s been made by a great new friend.  When I first met Jack Diaz I was immediately struck by her quirky sense of style, the cute Aussie tinge in her voice (from spending time studying in Sydney), and her endearing, warm personality.  After gushing about my love for karaoke and begging Jack to join me sometime, I learned there was even more to her than meets the eye.  “I’m terrified of karaoke,” she explained, “which is terrible because I am a singer!”  Of course.  She can’t just be totally adorable.  She has to be talented, too!

I hadn’t heard Jack’s singing voice until she recently gave me a copy of her EP Jasmine Rice, which you can download at iTunes and/or listen to on her MySpace music page.  It’s no surprise that she lists influences like Inara George (of the Bird and the Bee) and St. Vincent since her voice is similarly melodic and sweet with a very vintage quality.  Jack also plays the guitar and writes all her own songs.  If your interest isn’t piqued yet, check out this video I found of her (don’t kill me Jack!) covering a Tears for Fears classic.  I’ve probably watched it 1,000 times.  ❤

So why are we talking about Jack?  Well other than me wanting to share her musical gifts with you, I thought I’d let you in on the creative process of a photo shoot I’m planning with the lovely lady where I will also act as stylist!  Jack clearly has a great personal style and I want that to be reflected.  I’m thinking 1960’s by way of the 1990’s?  Francoise Hardy meets Lisa Loeb?  A party dress with knee socks and winged eyeliner?  We’ll see, but for now I’ve been studying some images from the AMAZING photographer Autumn de  Wilde’s blog for inspiration.  De Wilde, an LA-based photographer has shot Miranda July, Death Cab for Cutie, Zooey Deschanel, Jenny Lewis, Beck, Charlotte Gainsbourg, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, and so many more.  Her images are simple but so perfectly capture the essence of her subject.  That’s what I hope to do with Jack! In the meantime, enjoy some of my favorite shots by Miss de Wilde.

source

source

source

source

And a few vintage ones of her mom!!!

source

source

*Header image/cover art for Jasmine Rice by Elise Maree.  Check out her blog HERE! 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

