Skip to content

Support Independent Artists!

June 1, 2011

I don’t know if you guys heard all the hubbub about Urban Outfitters ripping off designs from independent artists (not to mention supposedly helping to finance anti-gay rights campaigns), but personally it really makes me reevaluate shopping there in the future.  I can’t tell you where to and where not to shop, but I’m going to highly recommend checking out jewelry and other handmade goods by independent artists and designers!  Not only are you less likely to not be caught with the same stuff as everyone else, and more likely to have a better quality, longer-lasting product, but you’re financially supporting an artist’s craft!  Everyone wins, right? Here are a few artists making beautiful unique things.  Check them out and don’t forget to check out Etsy.com and your local craft fairs (like Renegade Craft Fair where which occurs biannually in multiple cities!) for more unique, inspired items!

Strim Vintage

My sister is notoriously hard to shop for, but she absolutely adored the custom “B” necklace I got her from Strim Vintage!  Wendy was kind enough to whip up a silver version (my sis doesn’t “do” gold) per my request just in time for Christmas!  If you’re in the Los Angeles area, you can also get Strim’s handmade jewelry as well as vintage and re-worked clothing from Bobbie Boutique in Echo Park.

Buy me!

Buy me!

Buy me!

Erica Weiner 

Brooklyn-based jewelry-maker Erica Weiner creates funky, edgy-but-elegant designs often inspired by and sometimes using vintage objects.  My inner Midwesterner is totally obsessed with the little mounted deer head necklace!  Some of Erica Weiner’s jewelry can also be purchased at Los Angeles’s Lady Boutique in Eagle Rock.

Buy me!

Buy me!

Buy me!

Alexandra Ferguson 

Alexandra’s cute and cheeky pillows are all over the design blogs and magazine pages!  They’re soft and cozy, while adding some humor to your space.

source

source

Paper Pastries 

This stationary-and-more online shop has all your pretty paper needs covered!  Not to mention some perfectly lovely gifts for the giving as well!

Buy me!

Buy me!

Sarah McNeil 

My kitties Robot and Sancha are sooo deserving of a custom illustration by the truly talented Aussie, Sarah McNeil.  Aren’t your pets, as well?  Sarah also has plenty of other lovely prints available for sale on her Etsy page.  And those stickers!!!

Buy me!

Buy me!

*Header image of Erica Weiner’s Giant Feather Necklace available for purchase HERE

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2011 5:05 pm

    i have managed to successfully avoid shopping at Urban for almost 10 years now ( i first heard about their shady practices while in college) — i am proud to say that my fashion collection hasn’t suffered one bit. do it — it’s overpriced garage sale items in muted colors. everyone can do better than that.

  2. June 1, 2011 5:10 pm

    Heard about the UO thing. I’m more than happy to have another reason never to shop there.

  3. Lauren Ruyle permalink
    June 14, 2011 3:35 am

    I really like the stationary with the cameras on it. Was that done using a stamp, or are those prints made with a linoleum cut? Either way it’s just super cute.

Leave a Reply

