Skip to content

She Wears Short Shorts

May 17, 2011

Have I ever mentioned that my mother, Sally Lou, was so notorious for wearing short skirts that in the 1960’s my grandmother created the term “Sally Skirt” to describe my mom’s heightened hemlines that went beyond the already miniscule “mini skirts” of her generation?  True story.  Well, following in her footsteps I must admit that I have several pairs of shorts with barely more that a 2″ inseam (see above).  I know, I know, but I swear I’m normally pretty terrified of this level of skin exposure.  The thing is, the resuscitated 1970’s trend of high-waited shorts makes them ever so much more wearable.  Think about it; this cut celebrates curves which means, if you’ve got ’em, great! And if you don’t? You’ll look like you do!  And if you’re a short-legged girl like me, the high waist and short length really elongates your stems!  I do, however have a few rules to making them not too risque:

1) If they’re short and tight, choose a top that is either more loose-fitting, or has more coverage, or both! I love wearing mine with breezy, A-line tops or tucked-in blouses.

2) If you’re showing significant skin on the top and the bottom, opt for cute flats or flat sandals as opposed to heels.  Otherwise it looks too sexy for casual, daytime wear.

3) If you have to lay down to zip them up, or can’t sit in them–buy a bigger size!! This isn’t always possible when you’re buying vintage so if that’s the case, just don’t buy them until you find a pair that’s more practical.  Being able to breathe is always a good thing. 🙂

Here’s a few examples of how I wear some of my favorite pairs.

Ok, confession.  This faded kelly green pair is actually not vintage! They’re by the brand Grey Ant and would have cost me a fortune but luckily I found them at Wasteland, a used clothing store, for a great price!  I love the braided built-in-belt detail and you can’t see it, but the lining is a cute black and white pattern!  The top I’m wearing is a simple, wide-cut tank from H&M.

This coral-colored pair is one of my most recent flea market purchases.  The silver buttons and sweet little front pockets sealed the deal for me, even though I’m probably going to have them taken in a bit.  Ladies, never underestimate the power of a great tailor! My top here is another Wasteland find, a 1960’s inspired black cropped blouse by Twelfth Street by Cynthia Vincent.  If you look carefully you can see the little pom-pom trim around the neck and arms.  Love!

I got this pair of 1980’s shorty shorts as a birthday gift from my stylish friend Erin of Dudley.  Although pleating can often be unflattering I love that little detail on these!  Since they’re pretty snug in the waist, they’re easiest to wear with a tight-fitting bodysuit like this one from American Apparel.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2011 11:49 pm

    The red ones are SMOKIN!

    • May 18, 2011 5:02 am

      The red ones BARELY fit anymore. :/ But I appreciate the sentiment!

      • Antron Eiderlon permalink
        June 2, 2013 10:01 am

        ‘Barely fit’ is perfect for those of us who appreciate that *special* kind of fit. More cute pictures please. :c)

  2. Christina permalink
    May 18, 2011 2:09 pm

    you were MADE for short shorts! like mama like daughter! love your blog.

  3. May 23, 2011 3:59 pm

    I only wear short pants at home. That is so comfort. And because of skin exposure 😉

    I like your blue shorts!

    Love,
    Diny

  4. Rikke permalink
    May 25, 2011 8:05 am

    I just LOVE the blue shorts! Just the kind i would wish for this summer 🙂

    • Rikke permalink
      May 25, 2011 8:26 am

      Okay, for some reason i can’t post a comment on Fauna Vintage blog for the giveaway, so here goes:
      My favorite vintage item that i own, is a little black clutch with a little golden buckle that i once found at my grandmothers house when i was 5 years old. I used to play with it everythime i played dress-up, and back then it was already well worn down. I “re-found” it again a couple of years ago, and now its me all time favorite “go-to” bag for going out, and i love the fact that it used to belong to my grandmother.

      Great stuff your have on etsy by the way. Im crazy about the Rainbow Leather Vaneli Sandals.

      Rikke – Rikke41@hotmail.com

      • May 26, 2011 4:17 am

        Thank you, Rikke! I would advise checking the local thrift/vintage shops for some shorts like the teal ones (even though they aren’t vintage!). There’s tons of 80’s clothes just waiting to be rediscovered! That decade had some nice high waists which are back on trend!

  5. May 25, 2011 9:07 pm

    Those red shorts are gorgeous! I wish I had the confidence for these shorts..maybe it’ll be my summer mission!

Leave a Reply

