Skip to content

Hairdo How-To: Messy Ballerina Bun

May 1, 2011

source

When I was in 8th grade, I remember being mesmerized by the way one of my classmates in the seat in front of me masterfully twisted her white blonde hair into a perfectly messy, spiderwebby sort of bun on the top of her head.  I memorized her technique as best as I could and I have been rocking this look ever since.  That said, I’ve come a long way from pairing this causal ‘do with equally slumber-party appropriate attire (Pajama pants to school? Guilty!)

The new messy ballerina bun can be seen all over the runways and on fashion-forward ladies such as Kate Bosworth and Lykki Li.  It’s chic, feminine, and breezy when done properly and can look amazing with either juxtaposingly sophisticated ensembles (cocktail party dress?) or your casual summer basics (racerback tank, sundress).  Here are some of the best versions I could dig up.

source

source

source

source

Amazingly enough, some of you guys have been asking me how I do my own tried-and-true messy ballerina bun and though its insanely easy, I’ve decided to embarrass myself thoroughly in the very first (and possibly last….let me know what you guys think!) Sally Lou video post!  Enjoy my tutorial below! xo

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 2:45 am

    you are a genius.i can’t wait until my hair is long enough!

  2. May 29, 2011 4:08 am

    Great job with the video. Super cute style.

  3. Katie permalink
    July 26, 2011 2:53 pm

    Love it!!

  4. Christina permalink
    September 24, 2011 2:05 am

    YOU ARE SO CUTE!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

