Skip to content

O.P.P. (Other People’s Pictures)

April 15, 2011

Call me a voyeur if you must, but I have to confess my love for other people’s old photographs.  There’s something so bittersweet about seeing these giant boxes full of them at flea markets; someone’s old memories left for strangers to inspect and dissect and imagine their accompanying stories.  That’s exactly why I always feel so compelled to scoop them up and give them some new life.  But WHAT?  How can I do these captured moments and their owners justice? Well until I find a better way, I decided to use a few (rescued from a recent trip to Revival) on my “inspiration board” in my under-construction desk/office area.  I selected a few tiny snapshots from the 1920’s that featured stylish ladies and they are the first thing to grace my bulletin board which will ultimately serve as my space for visual inspiration.  I thought they were just so Sally Lou!  Here are just a few of the photos I was lucky enough to stumble upon today, the last of which shows my final selections here on the board.  Hopefully it will be full soon enough! xo

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2011 12:33 pm

    I like O.P.P. too. I have to confess all of our photos are in boxes. It makes for good entertainment to reach your hand in and see what treasures you can find. Right now we are going through my parent’s photos. You never know what you’re going to find.

    Great post. Love your creativity.

  2. Mom permalink
    April 15, 2011 12:40 pm

    beautiful, thoughtful poignant photos, Honey! I love the idea and content of this blog!

Leave a Reply

