Skip to content

Home in the Hills

April 3, 2011

As you know, I write about a lot of “vintage” stuff for this blog and often fashion or design is the target, but there is one very vintage thing I see everyday that I am consistently inspired by: my neighborhood. In May I’ll have lived in Silver Lake (a neighborhood of Los Angeles that is east of Hollywood and northwest of downtown) for four years.  It’s the only part of L.A. I’ve ever lived in and as long as I’m in this city I don’t see myself being able to stray too far.  My most recent hobby of walking (a novel idea, I know) has only enabled me to get to see more and more of beautiful, historic Silver Lake, with its impressive secret staircases, knobby hills specked with citrus trees and candy colored, Spanish style houses, and diverse ethnic mix.

Here are some fun facts about Silver Lake:

1) Though previously known as Edendale, its current name came from the lower basin of the reservoir which was named after former Water Board commissioner Herman Silver in 1906.

2) The staircase from the Laurel and Hardy film The Music Box can be found here (near my old apartment)!

3) Often compared to Brooklyn’s Williamsburg, the neighborhood is a thriving indie music scene and has been since the 1990s.  Contemporary indie band Silversun Pickups were even named for a local liquor store in a strip mall at the intersection of  Sunset and  Silver Lake Boulevards.

4) In my opinion, the fashion here is incredible.  People aren’t afraid to wear absolutely anything and I find that totally refreshing.  Vintage is something this neighborhood completely embraces.

Below are some Holga images I captured on a recent walk through Silver Lake’s hills, just above my apartment.  I plan to make this something of an ongoing project, so hopefully this only whets your appetite for more!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2011 1:26 pm

    Enjoyed the tour. Thanks!

  2. Emily O'Halloran permalink
    April 3, 2011 6:13 pm

    these photo’s are exquisite ash! love.love.love.

  3. melanie permalink
    April 3, 2011 9:09 pm

    i know where you were walking 😉 ahhh, i miss those streets. gregory and i are convinced that the house in the third picture belongs to crespin glover.

  4. April 8, 2011 2:25 am

    You and your lovely eye. I love the RV shot. So good! And the light leaks add so much magic to the photos. Can’t wait for more beautiful photos around LA!

Leave a Reply

