Skip to content

Eagle Rock’s fair Lady

March 16, 2011

How do I love Camille De Soto? Well, let me count the ways.  Besides the fact that she shares my taste in trashy television shows (Real Housewives, American Idol, etc….sorry, Camille!) and cocktails (vodka gimlet), has a similar adoration of her mom, and is hysterically funny, Camille has impeccable taste with a serious love of vintage which she exemplifies in her adorable women’s clothing boutique Lady in Eagle Rock.  I’ve already told you that Lady is one of my go-to sources for staples like my ever-present grey t-shirts, but did I mention Camille makes sure it’s always stocked with perfectly edited vintage pieces like chunky necklaces, woven and leather handbags, sexy metallic belts and more…in addition to carrying equally covet-able contemporary clothes and accessories by smallish, amazingly affordable labels? Well now you know.  And don’t fear is Los Angeles isn’t your home.  Camille offers plenty of goodies at Lady’s online shop as well!

Since Camille embraces so many things that Sally Lou is all about, I thought she’d be the perfect subject for a blog post!  I recently caught up with her at Lady where I viewed the fab merchandise, then traveled to Urchin, a nearby vintage/thrift shop all the while picking her brain about all things vintage. Here’s what she had to say!

What has been the best vintage find in your personal collection?

Maybe not “best” vintage find but my favorite vintage find is easy. If my house was on fire, I’d be running out of it with my dog, cat, my grandma’s gold bangle and my all time favorite brown vintage belt that I’ve worn the last 18 years. Iwear it all the time and couldn’t live without it.

Where do you go in LA for great vintage?

Even though places in L.A. tend to be picked over, I still think you can find awesome vintage pieces at the Pasadena City College flea market and I like that little Salvation Army annex store in Pasadena. And people always find pieces I salivate over at Shareen, Squaresville or Wasteland. And I love Ebay!

What is your favorite decade for vintage?

Don’t make me choose a favorite decade! It would have to be 60’s, early 70’s, if you’re gonna make me pick.

What vintage item are you always on the hunt for?

Always, always, always on the hunt for unique vintage necklaces and am a total sucker for a great vintage bag.

Finish this sentence: I can’t wait for _____ to come back.

Well, they’re not really vintage, but I’ve always loved and worn overalls and it seems like those are in all the mags right now. And I say, why wait for anything to come back in fashion…just wear it, if it makes you happy.

Here’s some of the sights at Lady in Eagle Rock!

These sandals are on my must-have-for-summer list!

Camille must share my clog/mule love! 🙂

Here’s the lady herself with a perfect polka dotted sundress

I can ALWAYS count on Lady for the best vintage jewelry like this 1970s beaded necklace!

This handbag is to diieeeee…plus I have the black version of this scarf and practically live in it!

The perfect marriage of old and new: vintage choker with contemporary elephant cut-out dress! This is sooo Lady!

After exploring Lady, Camille and I ventured to Urchin, a great vintage shop in Highland Park where she found some treasures!

Camille spotted this Mod-via-1980s bag…could be so great with a simple LBD!

We both share a shrunken sweatshirt obsession.

These vintage Charles Jourdan colorblock heels are a sassy find, too!

Lady Eagle Rock

4974 Eagle Rock Blvd

Los Angeles, CA 90041

(323) 254-6500

ladyeaglerock.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 1:49 am

    Now I just want to go shopping! I think Asa and I have to get ourselves over to Eagle Rock 🙂

  2. March 17, 2011 2:24 am

    OMG Camille!!! YOU ARE TOO CUTE! I will be there to shop with bells – maybe literally xoxo

  3. Jana permalink
    March 17, 2011 2:55 pm

    I love Lady and Camille has the best eye for cute, affordable pieces (not to mention that she’s a sweetheart and plays great music in the store!). Thanks for the article and pics 😉

Leave a Reply

