Skip to content

A Blog About Clogs

February 22, 2011

Did you ever have an item of clothing that has long been discarded from your wardrobe but that you’d practically give your right arm to get back?  One article that particularly sticks out in my fantasy of memories are a vintage pair of clogs I bought at a shop in Milwaukee back in 9th grade.  The caramel-colored leather, wooden-heeled wedges were my favorite accompaniment to my “recycled,” bleach-splattered, hip-hugger Levi’s from Contempo Casuals.  As my style became preppier, I left my once-beloved clogs behind.

But clogs have made a comeback! I’m loving the way an ever-so-slightly clunky wooden pair with a decent heel looks with ankle length jeans, a short dress, or the tried and true flared, hight-waisted pants.  Of late, I’ve been combing thrift shops and Etsy for a replacement of my old faves.  In the meantime, I found an amazing deal on some Swedish Hasbeens, a company that makes quality, cute, and comfy clogs!  Ok ok, they’re not vintage…but that doesn’t make me love them any less! Take a look!

Here are some other beauties of the vintage (and vintage inspired!) variety I found online.  You’re welcome.

source

source

source

source

source

source

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tammy permalink
    March 3, 2011 4:22 pm

    I love clogs too…still have mine from 9th grade, circa 1977-1978. Still love to wear them occasionally!

    • March 3, 2011 6:37 pm

      You were smart to hold on to yours!!! I should have kept mine! The sad thing is, I probably replaced them with some really hideous 1990s pair of shoes. 😦

  2. Giuli permalink
    August 2, 2012 4:35 am

    Hello, I love clogs too, last year on a trip to Sweden I bought several pairs in an outlet in Båstad…and I discovered a new (not so new) Swedish brand called Maguba. Maybe you wanna check it out! Thanks for your blog!

    • August 2, 2012 8:18 am

      Why, thank you! I just checked out the Maguba website. So cute, and much more affordable than the Hasbeens! Great find!! Xo

Leave a Reply

