Skip to content

Pins & Needlepoint

January 19, 2011

I’m the first one to admit that I have a soft spot for decor that borders on Grandma/Agoraphobic Cat Lady chic.  Some things I am willing to pass on at the risk of looking like someone who qualifies for an early bird special, but embroidered and needlepoint items are not some of those things.  Throw pillows and wall art using such techniques can give such a great sense of whimsy to a space and I’ve recently found myself using touches of it here and there to add warmth and coziness.  To avoid the aforementioned granny-effect, keep other similar objects of whimsical nostalgia at bay (ie: an excess of ceramic cats, crystal bowls filled with hard candy, and wall-mounted china).  Below are some my personal uses of embroidery throughout the house.

Just picked up this little beauty at a Pasadena thrift store.  The colors in it will go well with my rose-hued loveseat!

This is another thrifted pillow from one of my favorite neighborhood shops.

The fabulous flamenco dancer came from a local Out of the Closet and I got the sweet little owl from an old roomie.  My goal is to add a few more pieces to this collage so all the embroidery seems purposeful and a little cheeky.

Of course I can never stop hunting for more, so here are a few great-looking framed pieces David and I saw at a recent trip to the flea market.  I’m still kicking myself about not buying that amazing American Indian one!

For a more clean and modern version, Chez Sucre Chez makes some fab needlepoints.  I found them at a booth in the Renegade Craft Fair but you can buy there stuff online! I don’t know if I can resist some of the ones with sweet text! Be sure to check them out on the website.

For good measure, here are a few I found on Etsy that I need to put on a wishlist!

Buy it here!

Buy them here!

Buy it here!

* Header image from This Vintage Chica

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

