Skip to content

Double Take

January 14, 2011

As I previously mentioned, last week I lent my photography efforts to a shoot for singer/songwriter Emily O’Halloran with always-stunning makeup magic by Erin Dudley.  While the main focus was photographing Em (who’s worked on a bundle of lovely new songs since we shot photos for her last record), we each took a turn in front of the lens for a just-for-fun photo session.

I really wanted to reflect the gritty, moodiness of Emily’s songs and simultaneously display her signature vintage style.  For the last shoot we used my Polaroid SX-70 as well as my medium format Holga camera to capture the older time period we were aiming for, but this time I used only my manual 35mm and digital SLR.  To yield the same vintage effect I had to put more effort into the styling and compositions of these shots.

Makeup maven Erin wanted a slightly futuristic edge inspired by the 1980’s geometric dress she wore.  With her jet-black hair, white skin, and striking eye makeup, it wasn’t hard to achieve dramatic effect and I was quite pleased with the results!

Below are some of the 35mm photos from the shoot.  I used my old Minolta and 100 speed black and white film.  Hope you love!

And, oh yeah…I posed for a few shots, too.  Here’s one of those…if you must see. 😉 Really it was just an excuse to wear this amazing fur-collared vintage jacket.  There’s always an ulterior motive. Xo

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 4:10 am

    You are a very talented photographer. Excellent pictures! Such a pretty picture of you too…love the jacket!

  2. January 14, 2011 4:15 am

    love it all — as always!

  3. Emily O'Halloran permalink
    January 14, 2011 6:11 am

    you’re amazing…

  4. January 14, 2011 8:19 am

    You ladies are exquisite! The styling is perfection. And you look radiant as ever! LOVE LOVE!

  5. January 20, 2011 6:00 am

    Quite pleased with all these shots, indeed!!

Leave a Reply

