Skip to content

The Classics: Black Turtlenecks

January 5, 2011

I couldn’t believe my ears the other day while watching a totally embarrassing reality show (which I refuse to name) when the fashion-deficient star was disgusted at a friend’s suggestion to wear a black turtleneck to an affair with a “chic” dress code.  Since I wore my last black turtleneck until it practically disintrigrated off my body, I was particularly insulted by this reaction.  When did black turtlenecks become synonymous with “frumpy”, “outdated”, or (gasp!) “conservative”?  I’m pretty sure some of the greatest fashion icons of all times have been sporting the LBT (little black turtleneck) for decades now.

I thought about my own LBT recently as I searched for something to wear with a gorgeous vintage necklace given to me my stylish older sis.  Long, dangly, and definitely an attention-grabbing piece, I was stumped at the best way to wear it.  When my sister suggested to wear it with a black turtleneck, the mystery was solved! I’ve long been singing praises of LBT’s and just got my latest one at Target for under $20!  It’s thin and fitted so it makes the perfect layering piece and because the necklace is 1920’s style via the 1970’s (I assume) wearing it over a turtleneck gives it the perfect 70’s flair I love.  I wore it tucked into high waisted, wide-legged jeans.

And in case you’re still questioning the LBT, check out these ladies and see that wearing one puts you in pretty good company. 🙂

Jean Shrimpton

source

Edie Sedgewick

source

Natalie Wood

source

source

Audrey Hepburn

source

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2011 1:27 am

    love this post. you’re right, black turtle necks are so classy and now i want my old ones back!

  2. January 9, 2011 1:47 pm

    This was my go-to staple in my early-mid and even my late 20’s…how could I have lost touch with such an old friend? I guess it happened 2 winters ago…

    I tried a slightly sheer, ridiculously soft LBT on for size on boxing day…I didn’t know what to wear under it though, so even though it had a tall neck (a requirement) I took a pass…

    I wonder if its still at the boutique? 75% off? Just waiting for me? I will run out this afternoon and check!

    I am brand new to your blog and loving it! Ta!

Leave a Reply

