Skip to content

Vintage Family Christmas!

December 26, 2010

Merry Christmas!  This year I’m spending the holidays here in Los Angeles, so right about now I’m really missing my family’s traditional routine of spening the day at my grandma and grandpa’s house in rural Wisconsin.  I’m thinking about the ever present plate of pickled herring that only my mother eats, the smell of the basement with its multi-colored shag carpet and linoleum tiles, helping my grandmother clear the table when I really, really didn’t want to, and listening to the same stories over and over again.  It’s the nuances of our regular holiday routine that I’m missing the most, the things I’d take for granted if I were actually there.  More and more I realize that much of my love for vintage comes from my sentimentality and affinity for nostalgia.  I am drawn to things that remind me of those once owned by my mom or grandma,  like a Pyrex bowl encircled by a rooster pattern or a faded old landscape painting from the 1970s. So for my Sally Lou tribute to Christmas, I’ve gathered some vintage Christmas photos, some from friends and others from strangers, to honor that nostalgia and pay tribute to the traditions of family holidays.  The above photo features myself (middle) with my two older sisters, Brittany and Jessica. Now if I could only figure out where to find one of those ruffled-shoulder turtlenecks I’m wearing in the photo…

Ali & Stephanie

Juliah & sis

Joshua & Santa

unknown (source)

unknown (source)

unknown (source)

unknown (source)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2010 5:13 am

    Merry VINTAGE Christmas Ashley! You and your sisters are such little darlings in that photo. Hope you’re enjoying the holidays in LA. See ya soon!

  2. Zeb permalink
    December 26, 2010 7:21 am

    I miss the smell of my grandparents basement too. We always played hide and seek in the dark furnace room with my cousins on Christmas break. Sled all day. Eat all day. Rough house all night. Ugh. I miss it. After seeing this picture and that photo album the other day I might need to see every picture of you ever taken. Amazing. Merry Christmas!!!

Leave a Reply

